UGC University Grants Commission

About UGC:
In 1952, the Union Government decided that all cases pertaining to the allocation 
of grants-in-aid from public funds to the Central Universities and other Universities and
Institutions of higher learning might be referred to the University Grants Commission.
Consequently, the UGC was formally inaugurated by late Shri Maulana Abul Kalam Azad,
the then Minister of Education, Natural Resources and Scientific Research on
28 December 1953.
The UGC, however, was formally established only in November 1956 as a statutory body
of the Government of India through an Act of Parliament for the coordination,
determination, and maintenance of standards of university education in India. The
offices of the UGC are located in three locations in Delhi: Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg in
New Delhi, 35, Feroze Shah Road, and the South Campus of the University of Delhi.
Important Link:
UGC Website Link: Click Here