IIT BHU Varanasi

About The University:
The Indian Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University), Varanasi owes its existence to the farsighted vision and relentless efforts of the founder Mahamana Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviyaji, who created the first comprehensive residential university of India. Three engineering and technological institutions were established viz. the Banaras Engineering College (BENCO) in 1919, the College of Mining and Metallurgy (MINMET) in 1923, and the College of Technology (TECHNO) in 1932, as the constituent units of Banaras Hindu University.

The first-ever Bachelor degree courses in Electrical, Mechanical, Metallurgy, Mining,Ceramics, and Pharmaceutics in India were pioneered at BHU, while Pharmaceutics also being the first in Asia. After the country’s independence in 1947, postgraduate and doctoral research programs were also introduced here. These colleges produced outstanding engineers who led various indigenous industries, academic institutions, and R&D laboratories both within and outside the country.

The three engineering colleges were merged to form the Institute of Technology (IT, BHU) in 1968. The erstwhile Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University, has been converted into the Indian Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University), Varanasi w.e.f. 29th June 2012. Since then, the IIT BHU has witnessed several significant academic and developmental programs and new initiatives in all spheres of the Institute.

Important Link:
University Website Link: Click Here
University Admission Link Click Here